Valuable, but what’s it worth?

So there’s this guy who sold a jug of old barbecue sauce on eBay for $10,000. If you think I’m kidding, you can read all about it here: 20-year-old jug of BBQ sauce.

Before you (or I) scoff, how many of us saved McDonald’s Happy Meals toys hoping they’d be worth something one day? Hot Wheels? Teddy bears? Barbies still perfectly preserved in their cellophane boxes?  What memories do they bring back when we find them?

While I personally don’t go for popular toys and such, I do have a weak spot for antiques.

I once owned a beautiful old table. It was made of birds’ eye maple, in the shape of a hexagon. While I don’t have a picture of it handy, it wasn’t a million miles away from this one, which is made of oak.

The table I’m talking about isn’t a million miles away from this one.

Birds’ eye maple looks like this.

This is birds’ eye maple.

Now, this table was from the early- to mid-1800s. And it was beautiful. The warmth of countless hands running a cloth over its surface to clean it had polished it to a rich, warm patina.

It was a very elegant table. Still, it had scars after years of use. I thought they were marvelous, those scars. There was a big crack in the middle, something that needed to be looked at by a professional restorer but I hadn’t gotten around to it. The edges of its pedestal legs were worn by countless feet – I imagined people kicking them as they leaned back in their chair, satisfied after a nice meal or defeated after an evening of playing cards. Secrets shared over a cup of something. If the table could talk.

By owning it, I was both preserving history and creating it. With every conversation, every meal, I was adding to that table, extending its life, preserving a piece of the past and bringing it into the future. That, to me, was the value in that table.

When I decided to go traveling, the table had to go, so I sold it to a friend who professed to love it as much as I did. She knew I didn’t really want to part with it, but since the option was travel or sell … she said I could buy it back at a later date if I wanted.

I ended up coming back to Canada and did, indeed, ask to buy my table back. She wouldn’t do it. Her husband wanted to keep the table – and he wouldn’t let her fix the crack. “He says it’s worth more if we don’t fix it,” she said.

Sadly, sentimental value and inherent value are often two different things. I do wish the table had gone to an owner who valued it in the same way I did.  But value is in the eye of the beholder.

Still, I can’t help but wonder about the person who thought a bottle of barbecue sauce was worth $10,000. What were they thinking?

2 comments

  1. Another knockout! You rock, Deb!

    1. Phew! I was thinking that one wasn’t so strong … it can be tough to keep disciplined. So thanks!

Leave a Reply

fordfreelancer

Sharing a love for nature, heritage, animals and pets, including all things beautiful and surprising, driven by passionate curiosity, and compiled for you in articles, photographs and intriguing regular snippets.

Back On The Rock

Settled back in Jersey, heart still in Ireland....

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

JEREMY MCKEEN

Writer, Columnist, Contributor, and Editor

@LauraLME

Digital Transformation - Poetry and Photography @VersesInMotion @VIMMedia

the bippity boppity beautiful blog

let's create something beautiful - Katie Ann De Crescenzo

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

Dianne Johnston

Living Life after 60

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Smashing Through Life!

kicking the shit out of life every day, right in the nuts

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

coppernoise

Just another WordPress.com site

EXPATLOG

...life without borders

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Dear Life, Said With Love.

Life as I usually, somewhat, sometimes, clearly see it.

