Liebster Award nomination – woo hoo

Thank you leftofplumb for nominating me for a Liebster Award!

The Liebster Award

The Liebster Award

It’s apparently for “up and coming” blogs – so I’ll take that as a nod of approval. It also means I get to return the compliment to other blogs that I read – networking with nice words. As with anything, certain conditions apply, including stating:

Here are 11 random facts about me:

1. I’m wearing plaid in most of my grade school class photos.

2. My first pet was a Siamese cat named Sua.

3. I went to 11 different schools as a child.

4. My first car was a blue Datsun B210.

5.  I still know all the words to (and can sing) Black Sabbath’s “War Pigs”.

6. My one attempt at skydiving was scuppered because the pilot had an earache and couldn’t fly the plane.

7. I roast a mean chicken.

8. I can’t roll my ‘r’s which means any French accent I do sounds lame.

9. I was once in Toronto, Belfast, London and Paris all in the same week.

10. I travelled/backpacked through Greece on my own for three weeks.

11. I’m terrified of June bugs.

My answers to my nominator’s questions for her nominees:

  1. What is the oddest thing about your body? I have a mole on my neck.
  2. Who is at the top of your hallpass list? I’m not sure what this questions means.
  3. What is your favorite movie? It’s a Wonderful Life.
  4. If you could have a super power, what would it be? Invincibility.
  5. Do you love what you do for a living? Yes. But I don’t like my job.
  6. If you had a full day completely to yourself, what would you do with it? Want to do something with family or friends.
  7. Are you a hugger? Yes.
  8. Buy it or make it? A bit of both.
  9. Sweet or salty? Salty.
  10. If your life were a movie, would it be comedy, drama, romance or inspirational? Comedy.
  11. If you could get on a plane right now, where would you go? Ireland.

My questions for my nominees:

1. What’s your favourite book?

2. Who’s your favourite author?

3. Skiing or snowboarding?

4. Cultural or shake and bake vacation?

5. Favourite place?

6. Air conditioning or au naturel?

7. City dweller, suburban or rural?

8. The most exotic place you’ve ever been swimming?

9. Who is your hero?

10. Which musical instrument do you play (or wish you could)?

11. The last live music performance you saw?

Now, bloggers, it’s your turn! Here’s what you do:

1. Add the award icon to your blog!

2. Link to your nominator to say thank you.

3. Each blogger should post 11 facts about themselves.

4. Answer the questions the tagger has set for you  & create 11 questions for your nominees to answer.

5. Choose 11 up-and-coming bloggers with less than 200 followers, go to their blog, and tell them about the award.

I’m going to bend the rules a bit and choose bloggers with around 200 followers (give or take). And I’m not going to pick 11. So, my nominees are…..

http://matildaproject.wordpress.com/

http://allaboutmanners.wordpress.com/

http://parentingandstuff.wordpress.com/

http://chillimarmalade.com/

http://habitualrunaway.wordpress.com/

http://afinedayforanepiphany.wordpress.com/

http://backontherock.com/

Thanks for many fine and inspiring posts.

12 comments

  1. Mega impressed with your Black Sabbath mastery Deb! I’m much the same with ‘Sleeping Village’, often running through the whole track, sort of yowling through the guitar bits 🙂

    1. Haha, Roy! We all need a howling/yowling/heavy metal song in our repertoire. Generals gathered in their masses … and all that.

  2. Thank you again! 🙂 I always enjoy a list of good blogs to investigate and even better to be on it! Ha! Thanks so much!

    1. Ha! And hopefully a few more people will get the chance to discover you…

  3. Hi! I am new to the blogosphere environment and althought this may not be the right place to post this question, please ‘scuse my boldness while I learn my way around. (you liked my recent blog post – THANK YOU!) How do you get so many followers? Do you just post, post, and post, and share, share and share your posts? Any tips or hints are really much appreciated! 🙂 p.s. War Pigs, huh? My fave was always Sabbath Bloody Sabbath. I would lay on the carpet with my ears to the speakers and listen to that sweet sound of rock n’ roll. 🙂

    1. No need to excuse your boldness at all! It’s a great question and one everybody asks themselves at some point, I think. It’s easy to wonder where people come up with 1,500 followers and more (I sure still do!). But I think it’s a matter of just keep on posting, write what you write, and share. Also, engage with other bloggers (like you just did with me). Look around, comment on other people’s post, click “like” if you like them. I’m coming to understand that blogging can be a community. Some people start their blog with the intention of making it into something bigger – a website or a book, even. Some just want to share their thoughts and perceptions. I do you think you have to be true to yourself. I, personally, don’t have ‘goal’ for my blog. I just write because I like to. I don’t expect to get a ton of followers, but then again if I do, great. I’m enjoying it, and that’s what counts.

  4. Yup, blogging to me is sharing life experiences. It truly makes my day if someone else happens to experience the same or can benefit from anything that I shared.

    1. That’s the big thing about blogging, I think. I understand why people try to use it as a springboard to something bigger, or to test the waters in terms of their writing – but it’s the sense of community that I like.

  5. Believe it or not, life is settling down and on Tuesday of next week I will FINALLY respond on my blog to this. I am sorry it’s taken me so long. 😦

    1. Life has a way of doing that, Gretchen. Looking forward to seeing your response!

  6. ELEVEN different schools???

    1. Yes indeed. Crazy, isn’t it? It made me learn how to make friends quickly, though.

Leave a Reply

fordfreelancer

Sharing a love for nature, heritage, animals and pets, including all things beautiful and surprising, driven by passionate curiosity, and compiled for you in articles, photographs and intriguing regular snippets.

Back On The Rock

Settled back in Jersey, heart still in Ireland....

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

NERDY DAD SHIRT

By Jeremy McKeen

@LauraLME

Digital Transformation - Poetry and Photography @VersesInMotion @VIMMedia

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

Dianne Johnston

Living Life after 60

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Smashing Through Life!

kicking the shit out of life every day, right in the nuts

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

coppernoise

Just another WordPress.com site

EXPATLOG

...life without borders

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Dear Life, Said With Love.

Life as I usually, somewhat, sometimes, clearly see it.

